Simple Joys!

Simplicity is

  • Wrapping my fingers around a cup of homemade hot brewed coffee than standing in line at Starbucks for my Cappuccino.
  • When I  secretly wish to roll in sand or splash muddy water, and find joy in it.
  • Making meals on the stove stop with care than strutting in the frozen food isles of the grocery store.
  • Looking at the dew drops precariously hanging on the leaves in the cool morning sun.
  • When I smile at a pile of weekly paper mess on the formal dining table that my daughters’ homework had called for.
  • Cancel the invitation to the boisterous dinner party to have soul chat with best friend over a cup of tea.
  • Watching the clouds pass by the sun, moon and stars.
  • When I rather have my hands on a book than my eyes on ‘The Bachelor’ or ‘The Biggest Loser’ on prime-time TV.
  • Getting all weird and dropping on the floor caught in an all forgetting laughter with my kids.
  • Go to the park and watch dogs bark, than shop till I drop.
  • When I am chosen to listen, feel and touch others’ lives and feel grateful to savor the moments with loved ones.
  • When I see a glimpse of gratitude on my daughter’s face for the new dress I sewed for her.
  • Talking, while walking with a friend, sharing happiness, sorrow and everything under the sun.
  • When I dig my hand in a bowl of steaming rice and savor the flavor.
  • Sitting quietly and accepting a situation just as is, being in it, riding with it, not against it.
  • The realization that peace is when you know the true meaning of ‘Enough’.
  • My home town, the temple pond, the late night ‘kathakali’ shows, the paddy fields and the drops of rain from a leaky roof making dancing patterns on the floor!

 

4 thoughts on “Simple Joys!”

  1. Very well written Prameela!! Such a nice way to define ‘Peace’.
    Enjoyed reading all the posts. Will look forward to reading more 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

